In response to: You’ll Never Walk Alone

Magnus, The last line of your post here is entirely on point. It’s great. It’s interesting how you keep referring back to your father as a source of inspiration or point of departure to discuss your current ideas in your practice.  I know it’s a big jump in content or narrative here but the images you posted made me think of my trip to Egypt last October.  I’m not sure why.  Maybe it’s because when I see ink work I think of inscriptions and of personal stories.  In any case, I’ve been thinking about the film The Night of Counting the Years, a.k.a. Al-Mummia by Shadi Abdel Salam, with regards to this exchange we are having.  I’m considering how you allude to identity in your work here but also in our email exchanges. I think the film discuss a personal consciousness and identity that is inherently tied to history.  Hopefully you see the connections between your post and mine.

“The film casts its story in terms of the search for an authentic, lost Egyptian national identity, represented by the neglected and misunderstood artifacts ofancient Egyptian civilisation. However, the conflict between city and countryside suggests questions that are not resolved in the film, making it an ambiguous, unsettling reflection on the price of identity.”

It seems as if we are both examining the deterioration of the body and or of landscapes with regards to either physical or psychological constraint.  Your recent posts have also reminded me of Bill Morrison’s film Decasia: The State of Decay. (See two following images below).  On the one hand I seem to be exploring our Mutualism collaboration by working with content and imagery through space/place while you seem to be including the figure.  So here I present the body as atmosphere in contrast to your presentation of the corporeal.

You’ll never walk alone:

https://mutualisms.wordpress.com/2011/08/10/youll-never-walk-alone-2/

Leave a Reply

